Julia Morgan in Pacific Heights

Today, I embarked upon a Julia Morgan walking tour of Pacific Heights.  (That makes it sound really official, but I just used Google to find addresses, and then I walked from house to house.)  After she graduate from Cal, Julia Morgan became the first woman to train at L’Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris.  She returned to California and famously served as the architect for Hearst Castle.  But please, don’t judge her based on that monstrosity work!  She built many lovely–and livable–Arts and Crafts bungalows in the Bay Area.

It was a glorious SF day!

My first stop was the Watt House, at 36 Presidio Terrace.  (I’m not exactly sure if I was supposed to enter, since it seemed like a gated community, but the guard was on a break!)

I love the entrance on the side; it makes the house seem personal, and not too grand to be a home.  The keystones and cornice also add nice details.

My next stop was the Abraham Rosenberg House, at 3630 Jackson St.

Apparently this served as the Nepalese Consulate at one point, but once again it’s a private residence.  Julia Morgan has such an ability to design entryways that enhance her homes.

And look at the details on the windows!

Next stop:  the Mills House at 306 Laurel.

I sounds so repetitive, but the entryway!

Next I walked down to Pacific Ave.  The 3200 and 3300 blocks of this street in Presidio Heights have so many shingled Arts and Crafts homes.  (There’s an AMAZING Maybeck, but I’ll save that for a later post.)  To be honest, the Stull House at 3377 Pacific was one of my least favorites of the day.   I found it too austere.  (And I hate the landscaping!)

I visited one non residence on my walk:  the Katherine Delmar Burke School (now University High School).  Oh my goodness!  I loved this school!  If I’d grown up in SF, I think I would have wanted to go here based on the ambiance alone.

Cute window!

After University HS, I minced my way down an archetypal SF hill to Vallejo, to see the Kellog House at 2820 Vallejo.  I loved the arched (entablature?) above the front door.

Next came my most eagerly anticipated stop:  Julia Morgan’s residence at 2229 and 2231 Divisadero.

Julia Morgan didn’t design these units; she purchased the two Edwardians and then lopped the top floor off 2229, to allow more light to enter the northern building.  Then she lived in 2231, and rented 2229.

My Julia Morgan tour ended at the Selfridge House, at 2615 California.

I wonder if it was originally painted this color?  Definitely a departure from the shingled style of the earlier homes.  The Selfridge House was built later, in the 1930s.

I had a wonderful time on my Julia Morgan adventure!  I hope you also enjoyed a glimpse of her architecture!

This entry was posted in architecture, SF. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

