17 Miles!

This morning after my beloved (and necessary) mug of coffee, I set off on my 17 mile run! This is the farthest distance I’ve tackled yet in this round of marathon training. Definitely a bit psychologically daunting.

I ran along Ocean Beach to the Sutro Baths, and then through Lands End towards the Presidio.

Isn’t the fog shrouding the Golden Gate lovely?

You don’t have to tell me twice!

After the Presidio, I ran along Crissy Field and the Marina to Fort Mason.

I think the pet cemetery is so cute!

I fought the throngs of tourists along Fisherman’s Wharf and the Embarcadero, and came upon the Bay Bridge illuminated in sunlight.

At the Ballpark, I turned around and ran back to the Ferry Building, where I grabbed a much needed peppermint tea at Peet’s before hopping on Muni and heading back to my apt for a warm shower.  The run went really well, especially since my legs have been so achey lately.  The first 12 miles were fantastic, and the final 5 weren’t too bad either.  I’m quite pleased to have run 17 miles before noon!

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 17 Miles!

  1. Jess says:

    I would be quite pleased with that accomplishment, too! Way to go :] Such a gorgeous running route, too!

  2. kramerjen says:

    Hi, my husband and I went to San Francisco last year on vacation, and I had a blast reading your blog. We didn’t see all of those sites (we decided to drive up to see the redwoods instead of our original plan to bike from the GG bridge along the west coast), but I read about all of these places while I was planning our trip. Have fun in your new town!

    • Marian says:

      Thank you! SF is such a fun city to explore. I visited the redwoods years ago, but it’s definitely on my to-do list again now that I’m so close!

Leave a Reply

